BUTT, NO EXCUSES CAMPAIGN

I came up with the idea to create an awareness campaign for two reasons:

  1. I know what it’s like to lose someone because you previously had no idea about this cancer and it’s screening methods.
  2. There are so many fundraising efforts out there but in terms of colon cancer I believe awareness in the young adult years is key.

So I came up with BUTT, NO EXCUSES. This awareness campaign will be targeting young adults and creating awareness about preventative measures against colon cancer. The younger they know, the more educated they are, the more likely they are to get screened early and prevent colon cancer from developing.

HOW WILL WE DO THIS:

BUTT, NO EXCUSES will be a photo campaign. We will be photographing people’s butts, bums, bottoms (covered or not – depends on what the individual wants). By having their behinds photographed they will be signing on to be an ambassador in the campaign to create awareness about colon cancer. Each photo taken will be developed into an awareness advertisement with our logo and a small tagline of preventive measures against colon cancer. Each person photographed will receive a digital copy of their photo to use as they please.

We are thrilled and pleased to have the lovely VICTORIA TIFFANY as our campaign photographer and my beautiful partner in this campaign!

We want to show that although colon cancer is an unpleasant one to think about as well as it’s screening tests, that we have a variety of people ready to fight the fight with us and put away our fears in order to save lives, one butt at a time!

WHY AM I DOING THIS?

My Mom was diagnosed with colon cancer in 2009. The news was devastating. It seemed so surreal. She was diagnosed at Stage 4. This means that this is the terminal stage of cancer. There are generally no cures unless you’re blessed with a miracle. She underwent treatments and treatments to no avail. In December of 2010, my sister and I held each one of her hands as she left this world.

I can’t even explain to you the emotions that follow and I’m sure many of you already know. We shouldn’t have to know. We shouldn’t have to lose the ones we love to a cancer that can be prevented.

Her loss in my family was a great one and one that I am still learning to cope with. I wanted to create this awareness campaign in order to inform as many people as possible. I’m doing this in honor of my Mom and all those we’ve lost to this horrible cancer.

PLEASE GO AND LIKE OUR PAGE ON FACEBOOK

WHERE ALL INFORMATION ON PHOTOSHOOT DATES WILL BE PROVIDED:

BUTT, NO EXCUSES!

Fact 1

Fact 2

Fact 3

Leave a Reply

